Journeyman

it came out of the wordwork

Previous Entry Share Next Entry
A Holiday message and Liaden Universe InfoDump #93
coffee
kinzel
InfoDump and Holiday Message

Dear Friends and Readers,

Thank you all for receiving this extra long 93rd edition of the Liaden Universe® InfoDump, and special thanks to the hundred or so of you who have been with the InfoDump from Number One. Who knew when we started this little electronic newsletter well over a dozen years ago that it would still be going strong here in the second decade of the 21st century?

We’d like to take a moment more of your time, if we may, to reflect on 2011, which has been a very active year for us (and continues active, as we work to finish Dragon Ship, which is due RSN at Baen Intergalactic Headquarters in North Carolina). It been a very expensive year, and a very rewarding year; a year of decision.

Historically — in fact, since 1995 — we’d be busy at this time of year with SRM Publisher chapbooks, either sorting pre-orders or packing books. This year — this year of decision — there is no Yule chapbook to send out. We’re sorry for that. The Yule chapbook was a connection between us and you, our readers. Like sending cards to family. Yes, the mailing was a big project at a particularly busy time of year, but we miss it, and we hope you’re all well. . .as well as can be, in these uncertain times.

The decision to close down SRM Publisher wasn’t an easy one, but it was necessary. We need to concentrate on writing, and on staying healthy.

Part of the expense of this year, this 2011, was paid from Steve’s health. He was out of circulation for a number of months, with pneumonia, cardiac issues, an ICD implant…followed by rehab, and the fun game of Getting to Know Your Meds. Among it all, we lost Hexapuma, whose exploits many of you followed through Sharon’s blog, to kidney failure — and the year hasn’t exactly been easy on anybody, in terms of friends and colleagues lost.

Despite all that, Skyblaze, the 17th Adventure in the Liaden Universe(R) was written and mailed, we started a new online project in Splinter Universe, put many of our works into ebook format, did a TV interview. . .and traveled to Reno for WorldCon, where we saw so many of you! Dozens of you at once, in fact, at the wonderful Friends of Liad breakfast, which had more attendees then the first WorldCon. On the way home, we swung by Uncle Hugo’s in Minneapolis, where we signed and personalized hundreds of copies of Ghost Ship; met and talked to quite a few more of you. We were also Guests of Honor at a couple of regional conventions, where we talked to even more of you.

By that measure, then — the measure of connecting with our readers, making reasonable decisions for future health, and pursuing our long-term goal of living the writing life — 2011 has been a good year.

Thank you for helping make it so, for us. And we hope that we have, insofar as telling stories can, made your year more worthwhile, too.

A blessed Yule, a Merry Christmas, and a better New Year, to us all!

Steve and Sharon
Waterville Maine
November 30, 2011

* * *

Liaden Universe® InfoDump Number 93: The Gift Giving Edition

PINBEAM BOOKS SALE

From NOW until January 2012, you can may get the following titles from Pinbeam Books for *two bucks off* (that comes to $0.99 for each of the chapbook titles and $2.99 for The Tomorrow Log). No coupon codes, no special links. Just go to the Kindle Store, the Nook Store or to Smashwords and load up your cart.

Sale titles are:

Chariot to the Stars by Steve Miller
Includes: “Rain Day,” “The Solution,” “The Inventoried,” “The Cat’s Job,” “Charioteer”

TimeRags II by Steve Miller
Updates and expands Steve’s first volume of poetry, TimeRags, published in 1975.

Variations Three by Sharon Lee
Includes: “Coffeecat,” “The AfterImage,” and “Passionato”

Endeavors of Will by Sharon Lee
Includes: “Stolen Laughter,” “The Winter Consort,” “The Pretender,” “The Silver Pathway,” “Stormshelter,” “The Girl, The Cat, and Deviant,” “A Matter of Ceremony,” “The Handsome Prince,” and “Cards” (poem)

Master Walk by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller
Contains the novelette “Master Walk”

The Naming of Kinzel by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller
Includes: “Kinzel the Foolish,” “Kinzel the Innocent,” and “Kinzel the Arbiter”

The Tomorrow Log by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller
A space opera novel detailing the adventures of master thief Gem ser Edreth

For more electronic chapbooks, including all the of the Adventures in the Liaden Universe® chapbooks, check out Pinbeam Books (http://www.pinbeambooks.com)

COMPLETE LEE AND MILLER NOVEL BACKLIST AVAILABLE ELECTRONICALLY

For those who want electronic editions of Lee-and-Miller, and Lee, novels, the entire oeuvre (barring Sharon’s mysteries, and Sword of Orion, of which more in a moment) to date can be purchased directly (http://www.webscription.net/s-117-sharon-lee.aspx) in the format(s) of your choice from Baen Books.

Sharon’s mysteries set in Wimsy, Maine, are available in the electronic format of your choice from Fictionwise (http://www.fictionwise.com/eBooks/SharonLeeeBooks.htm) Sadly, Sword of Orion is not as of this writing available in eformat.

FREE STORIES!

All of the terrific stories, including Liaden story “Intelligent Design,” that have been published for free on Baen Books’ front page throughout 2011, are collected in this great electronic anthology (http://www.webscription.net/p-1387-free-short-stories-2011.aspx) which is absolutely free.

Speaking of free stories, don’t forget to check out Splinter Universe (http://www.splinteruniverse.com) which right now has four complete short stories and a number of “splinters” available to be read. Donations are gratefully accepted.

WIMSY NOVELS ON SALE!

Lulu is having a sale! Yes! This means you can go here (http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/wimsy ) and purchase the brand-new paper editions of Barnburner and Gunshy, the Jen Pierce Wimsy, Maine mysteries, for 25% off! Just use this coupon code: *BUYMYBOOK305*
Small print: Coupon expires December 14, 2011/$50 Max Savings

GHOST SHIP SELL OUT

We wrote to you at the end of October to let you know that Ghost Ship has sold out. Which means, in the publishing world, that there are no copies left in the Simon and Schuster warehouse. There are still copies in stores — both indie stores and big-box — and in some superstore warehouses. As of this writing, Amazon.com has sold through the stock in its warehouse and has no more Ghost Ships to sell. Barnes and Noble still appears to have stock. Uncle Hugo’s Science Fiction Bookstore in Minneapolis still has SIGNED copies of Ghost Ship on hand.

Long story short, if you want to give a copy of the hardcover edition of Ghost Ship to someone, or you want a(nother) copy for yourself, now is the time to buy.

The mass market edition of Ghost Ship will be published by Baen in late July/early August 2012

COMING SOON TO A BOOKSTORE NEAR YOU

Carousel Tides, mass market: January 2012
Ghost Ship, mass market: July 2012
Dragon Ship, hardcover: September 2012

GOT A COUPLE MINUTES? LIKE WHAT YOU’VE BEEN READING? WRITE A READER REVIEW

If you’ve read a Lee-and-Miller, or Lee, book this year, please think about doing a customer review of that book (or books!) at Amazon, BN, or Other Online Bookstore of your choice. Fresh reviews are a nice way to spruce up the catalog pages and help other readers make a buying decision.

Books that came out (including reprints) this year are: Mouse and Dragon, The Crystal Variation, Ghost Ship, Saltation, Korval’s Game, The Agent Gambit. Other books in play: The Dragon Variation, Fledgling,
Carousel Tides, and! All the chapbooks that were electrified just this year.

Review one, review ‘em all! Thanks, everyone, for your help!

NEBULA NOMINATING PERIOD NOW OPEN

If you are an Active or Associate member of SFWA and have somehow missed the announcements elsewhere, be thou advised that the open nomination period is, err, open, and will remain so until February 15, 2012, 11:59 p.m. PST. This is the time during which titles are thrown into the hat at the rate of five per category per member; it is from these titles that the works appearing on the final Nebula ballot are drawn. Nominations are limited to those works published during the 2011 calendar year.

Lee and Miller, and Miller, have several works eligible for Nebula nomination. They are:

Short stories (published at Splinter Universe http://www.splinteruniverse.com): “Guaranteed Delivery,” “Russians In My Head” by Steve Miller –

Novelettes (published at Splinter Universe http://www.splinteruniverse.com): “Kin Ties,” “The Space at Tinsori Light”

ALSO: “Intelligent Design,” published on the Baen website.

Novella: “Skyblaze” published by SRM Publisher Ltd.

Novel: Ghost Ship, published by Baen

WHERE ON EARTH ARE LEE AND MILLER?

Chattacon 37 (http://www.chattacon.org/), January 20-22, 2012, Chattanooga TN. Lee and Miller Guests of Honor

Boskone 49 (http://www.nesfa.org/boskone/), February 17-19, 2012, Boston, MA.

Rockland Public Library, Rockland ME, Thursday, April 5, 2012

ConQuest 43 (www.conquestkc.org), May 25-27, 2012, Kansas City, MO. Lee and Miller Guests of Honor

*Support Your Local Bookstore*
Uncle Hugo’s: http://www.unclehugo.com/
University Bookstore: http://www.bookstore.washington.edu/services.taf?dept=about&category=loca
Pandemonium Books: http://www.pandemoniumbooks.com/
Missing Volume: http://www.themissingvolume.com/
Borderlands: http://www.borderlands-books.com/
Flights of Fantasy: http://www.fof.net/
Mysterious Galaxy: http://mysteriousgalaxy.booksense.com/
Constellation Books: http://www.constellationbooks.com/NASApp/store/IndexJsp
Children’s Book Cellar: http://www.indiebound.org/stores/childrens-book-cellar

/All of the above folks do mail order and take want lists/.

*Blogs and Other Webly Things of Note*
Theo_Waitley is the discussion group for readers of Fledgling and Saltation: http://community.livejournal.com/theo_waitley/

Where Dragons Rest: http://community.livejournal.com/liaden_readers/

Steve Miller’s blog, Journeyman: http://kinzel.livejournal.com/

Sharon Lee’s blog, Eagles over the Kennebec: http://rolanni.livejournal.com/

SRM Publisher blog: http://srmpublisher.livejournal.com/

Sharon Lee’s “Professional” blog: http://sharonleewriter.com

Splinter Universe Discussion List: http://splinterverse.livejournal.com

Facebook Connections — please feel free to add us!

http://facebook.com/kinzel — Steve Miller

http://facebook.com/rolanni — Sharon Lee

*Liaden Interest Groups on Facebook*
Clan Korval: http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=38719490864&ref=ts

Friends of Liad: http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home#/group.php?gid=16280839259&ref=ts

Flaran chamenthi: http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home#/group.php?gid=2213414696&ref=ts

*GoodReads*
Sharon’s Author Page:http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/57980.Sharon_Lee
*Steve’s on Twitter*: http://twitter.com/bechimo
*Sharon’s on Twitter, too*: http://twitter.com/ClanKorval

*DISCLAIMER STUFF*
This InfoDump is a product of the Liaden Universe®, accept no imitations. You have received this message because you asked for it. If you wish to subscribe to the Liaden Universe® email list, go here: http://www.fireopal.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/liadenuniversenews

–30–
Tags:

Comments Disabled:

Comments have been disabled for this post.

?

Log in

No account? Create an account